top of page
  • Writer's pictureSquishyOfTwinMoons

Sewing and Serging

Greetings everyone.


So this holiday weekend was all about sewing since I was able to maximize a balance between lounge lazy time and sewing productivity.


I do have some tips. In case you're interested.


1) try new things.

I did some color block chemises and viking overdresses in new and interestingly textured fabric. Theyre fun!


2) always try to seal your cut ends of your fabric with a serger or flatlining, or even a basting stitch. This will prevent lots of aggravation in handling your fabric. I always serge my fabric before i put it in the preshrink wash, then, after i cut my pieces out, i serge all of those as well. I find it makes a cleaner finished piece.


3) have fun with it! I got 2 BRIGHT fabrics to make a chemise from that i normally would never give a second thought to! But with encouragement from my Peer in the SCA, i decided the worst that could happen is I have a greatly memorable dress.

I hope your holiday weekend was fun and relaxing!

See you soon!

-Orabilis

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ramp-up to War

So, Highlands War is coming. It'll be my 2nd time to Highlands and the first time I'm going where I wont be "working". Merchanting my booth. I'm hoping for a more enjoyable time. There's something sur

IKEA Round 2

So I participated in IKEA round 1 a few months ago and it was pretty fun. I got an awesome little crocheted witch hat from my person and I had sewn up a cloak and book to give to my person. It is def

bottom of page